Select Page

We have come to the difficult but necessary decision to suspend all volunteer surveys and field work until further notice. Please read our Policy on Outdoor Work under COVID-19.

Nocturnal Owl Survey

Owls are directly affected by changes in forests. These important predators are relatively easy to identify, but because they’re nocturnal and nest early in the season, they can be difficult to monitor.

Information on owl distribution and abundance is essential for developing sound conservation strategies, identifying species in need of conservation action, and evaluating the effectiveness of forest management programs.

Through Nocturnal Owl Surveys across Canada, over 1000 volunteers count owls along isolated roads, documenting population trends and breeding range limits. Surveyors enjoy the solitude and peace of these early season events — a precursor to a busy spring.  Many of the surveys have become family traditions with decades of memories shared through the generations.

Birds Canada thanks all the volunteers and conservation partners who support Nocturnal Owl Surveys. Owl surveys begin in February in British Columbia and in April everywhere else. If you live near Canada’s great forests consider contacting your regional owl survey program to volunteer.

Barred Owl Photo: Graham Sorenson

Alberta

Lisa Takats Priestley
Coordinator, Alberta Nocturnal Owl Survey

Lisa@strixeco.ca

 

Atlantic Canada

Amy-Lee Kouwenberg
Bird Projects Biologist
akouwenberg@birdscanada.org

2019 Newsletter

View Page

Volunteer portal

British Columbia, Yukon, Northwest Territories

Graham Sorenson
BC Projects, Yukon, NWT Owl Surveys Coordinator
bcvolunteer@birdscanada.org

View Page

Volunteer portal

 

Manitoba

Christian Artuso
Manitoba Volunteer Coordinator
chartuso@gmail.com 

View Page

Ontario

Kathy Jones 
Volunteer Manager, Ontario Program
volunteer@birdscanada.org

View Page

Volunteer portal

Quebec

Andrew Coughlan
Director, Quebec
acoughlan@birdscanada.org

Saskatchewan

LeeAnn Latremouille
Saskatchewan Atlas Coordinator
skatlas@birdscanada.org